Shoulda Woulda Coulda

Image

I don’t like to make New Year’s resolutions. It’s just too much pressure and usually I am doomed to failure. Instead I reevaluate my life in February. For the last two weeks I have been looking at many aspects of my life and trying to see what is working and what is not. Every year when I do this I am reminded how lucky I am with my family life. I have a loving wife and two fantastic kids. This thought is always at the top of my list. This always go down hill from this point. Life in general is pretty good. I am happy most days but not always and I can see some things to work on this year.

The first big thing to work on this year is feeling good. Generally my health is ok for the most part. I do need to work on several things though. At 41 I am overweight according to my doctor. I don’t think so since I have been 180 lbs for over 20 years. I am however out of shape. This I know as I get winded when playing with my kids and get tired faster than I should. I sleep 6-7 hours a night but it’s not a good sleep. I think getting back in shape will help both the tiredness and sleep issues.

My diet is playing a part in my fitness. I don’t think I am eating right for my body type. On the good side, I have stopped drinking and smoking cigars. On the bad side, I think how much protein I eat is way out of whack. I also consume far to much meat. I think I will slowly work towards a vegetarian lifestyle, but I’m not sure how practical this will be.

My third big change me thing for the year is my job. Some days I love it but on most days well…not so much. I am old enough to know now that I want to be happy at work. I spend the majority of my life at a job so I better get into something that makes me happy. I want to wake up everyday wanting to go in. I’m not sure how to tackle this one yet, but it needs to change.

So, those are my three big rocks for the year as my boss would say. Changing all three will make me a happier and better adjusted human being. Mid-life crisis? Maybe but since I only have one shot at life now is the time to do it and hopefully putting it all out on here will help. And that my friend is my 40ish thought for today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

